Questions? +1 (202) 335-3939 Login
Trusted News Since 1995
A service for global professionals · Wednesday, June 19, 2019 · 488,500,139 Articles · 3+ Million Readers

BC Treaty Commission congratulates negotiating parties on Northern Secwepemc te Qelmucw Agreement in Principle signing

VANCOUVER, British Columbia, July 22, 2018 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Congratulations to Northern Shuswap Tribal Council [NStQ Treaty Group], the Government of Canada, and the Province of British Columbia on today’s signing of an agreement in principle [AIP].

NStQ represents Stswecem’c/Xgat’tem [Canoe Creek/Dog Creek], T’exelc [Williams Lake], Tsq’escen’ [Canim Lake], and Xats’ull [Soda Creek]. In early 2016, the four communities voted in support of continuing to Stage 5 treaty negotiations, and the parties initialled the AIP later that year.

“Today is an important milestone for the four NStQ communities and for all Canadians,” said Chief Commissioner Celeste Haldane. “There are complex reconciliation issues in the area, and today’s signing of the NStQ AIP signals a commitment to a new relationship for the whole region.”

“The NStQ AIP demonstrates how treaty negotiations are a powerful tool for building nationhood, bringing together these four First Nation communities and out from under the Indian Act,” said Commissioner Tanya Corbet.
There are approximately 2,600 NStQ members, with traditional territory and waters in the central Cariboo from Valemont and McBride in the northeast, to the Fraser River to the west.

Chief Commissioner Celeste Haldane and Commissioner Tanya Corbet were in Canim Lake today to witness the signing and celebrate with the parties.

Quick Facts

  • 39% of all BC Indian Act bands are actively negotiating or already implementing a modern treaty.
  • As of July 22, 2018, there are 8 First Nations, representing 17 Indian Act bands, in Stage 5 of the BC treaty negotiations process. They are: Kitselas and Kitsumkalum [Tsimshian First Nations], K'ómoks, Lheidli T'enneh, Northern Shuswap, Samahquam and Skatin, Te'mexw, Wuikinuxv, and Yekooche.
  • There are 7 First Nations implementing modern treaties negotiated through the BC treaty negotiations process: Huu-ay-aht, Ka:'yu:'k't'h/Che:k'tles7et'h', Tla’amin, Toquaht, Tsawwassen, Uchucklesaht, and Yuułuʔiłʔatḥ.

Odette Wilson / Communications Advisor / t: 604-482-9215 / c: 604-290-4059 /
Mark Smith / Director of Process /

About the BC Treaty Commission
The Treaty Commission is the independent body responsible for overseeing treaty negotiations among the governments of Canada, BC, and First Nations in BC. It has three roles: facilitation, funding, and public information and education.
Visit to learn more about the Treaty Commission.

Primary Logo

Powered by EIN News
Distribution channels: IT Industry, Politics

EIN Presswire does not exercise editorial control over third-party content provided, uploaded, published, or distributed by users of EIN Presswire. We are a distributor, not a publisher, of 3rd party content. Such content may contain the views, opinions, statements, offers, and other material of the respective users, suppliers, participants, or authors.

Submit your press release